Whacking widgets

This widget delivers water from my roof to the ground.

The Penscratch 2 theme permits the use of widgets in a sidebar and a couple other locations. But navigating the Widget Experience in the Block Editor (curse its name, yes) is on a par with running around downtown Denver in the Seventies with a head full of acid and a belly gurgling with cheap industrial lager. Very little makes sense or even looks familiar and there is an irresistible urge to throw things off high places, just to see what happens.

So this morning I tossed my sidebar widgets over the edge, thus eliminating the sidebar, and then reanimated a few of them as pages, which for some reason turn up as links in the header. The copyright warning I moved to the widget area at the bottom of the homepage. That took some doing, because the process of adding/sizing an image for the sonofabitch felt like throwing the widget off some high place with the goal of landing it in some tosspot’s half-empty red plastic Solo cup rocking a Tower of Pisa lean in a trash barrel on the sidewalk below using a target-imaging system scrambled like a couple of White Spot cackleberries by blotter and Bud.

As it happens, while I was doing this I got invited to take a survey about themes. So I did. And I didn’t even deploy any vile and actionable language, either.

I’m still waiting for my free prize.

Leave a comment